The Power of Social Media

Yesterday I photographed BTS and The Runway at a Mercedes Benz Fashion Week show. This was my first fashion show and I had a great time! We now live in a time where nearly everyone has access to the internet and social media and networking is one of the best ways to promote your work! Photographers, make-up artists, hair stylists, wardrobe stylists, designers, models, etc… we all have business cards and we all exchanged cards at the show, there was NOT one card that didn’t have a website or Facebook or Twitter printed on them. Infact you can attach a QR code to your card, when scanned by your smart phone will automatically import the contact to your phone and sometimes take you to a social media site.

My personal example of the power of social media comes from simply posting a photo to a wall. Ian Ziering, actor from 90210 and Sharknado walked the runway and I got some great shots of him. When I got home form the show I uploaded the photos and posted 1 photo of Ian on my Twitter page (tagging him in the process) and also did the same on my Facebook book. I woke up this morning to find that he favorited my tweet and changed his Facebook profile picture to my photo! Which you can see here https://www.facebook.com/IanZiering?fref=ts

I have already gained likes to my page https://www.facebook.com/pages/Andrew-Foord-Photography/151111961603741  and have a feeling I will be getting many more!

_MG_4309

http://www.andrewfoordphotography.com

Leave a Reply

